Remote access to machines in classrooms with Windows
- Free machine selection
- Remote Desktop connection
- Log out
During online teaching, computers in Windows classrooms are remotely accessible via the Remote Desktop protocol. Access from machines outside the FI is only possible through services VPN FI whose VPN MU (Within FI, machines are available from employee computers from subnets 42, 48 and 52). These are the following classrooms and computers:
The machines are available on weekdays between 7 am and 10 pm. Outside this time, only machines will be available
Change for the spring semester 2021: machines in classrooms B116, B117 and A215, which were used only minimally in the autumn and no teaching is scheduled for this semester, will not be switched on at all. However, if necessary, it is possible to agree on their activation and access to the above at
Free machine selection
At most one active user can be connected on Windows workstations. For an overview of which machines are already occupied and which are potentially free, we recommend using them room maps at the Faculty Administration (room names above refer to this application).Even so, there is a risk that two users will "look" for almost the same machine at the same time. In this case, the user who connects second will receive the message Another user is signed in. It you continue, they'll be disconnected. Do you want to sign in anyway? The optimal solution in this case is to choose No and try another free machine. If you select Yes , the logged-in user will be asked if he wants to disconnect in favor of the other user, if he does not reject the "offer" within thirty seconds, he will be disconnected automatically.
Remote Desktop connectionAs already mentioned: from machines outside FI, access is only possible through services VPN FI whose VPN MU , ie if it is not possible to establish contact with the target machine, it is advisable to first check that you are actually connecting via VPN.
from WindowsThe client can be started by pressing
mstsc. The computer name must be filled in in the form e.g.
sirene01.fi.muni.cz, the username must then be entered as
ntfi\your_login. Alternatively, many other settings can be adjusted by clicking on Options before connecting:
- the General tab allows you to pre-populate login information and save settings to a file
- the Display tab allows you to set the size of the client window and the color depth; smaller color depth is suitable for slow connections
- The Local Resources tab allows you to set up sharing (transfer) of audio, disks, printers, mailboxes, etc.
- the Experience tab allows you to optimize the size of transmitted data according to the speed of the network connection
We recommend using the program
xfreerdp . If it is not included in the Linux distribution used by the user, it can be compiled from source code from the project page
freerdp or use pre-prepared packages, eg from
rpmfind.net ap. You can then connect, for example, with the command
xfreerdp -d NTFI -u your_login sirene01.fi.muni.cz (The program will list other switches at startup
xfreerdp without parameters).
The alternative is
rdesktop -d NTFI -u your_login sirene01.fi.muni.cz . The size of the window is set with the switch
-g . You can switch to fullscreen by pressing Ctrl + Alt + Enter.
MacPorts they can simply install the FreeRDP package with the command
port install freerdp and then use the command in the terminal
/opt/local/bin/xfreerdp -d NTFI -u your_login sirene01.fi.muni.cz as described in
section for Linux .
Another option is installation
Microsoft Remote Desktop client . After starting, it is necessary to click on
New and enter it as the
PC name in the new window
sirene01.fi.muni.cz , as
ntfi\your_login and as
Connection name e.g.
sirene01 , close the window and connect by double-clicking on the newly created item under
My Desktops .
Logging out works in the same way as for local login, ie by clicking on the stick figure icon in the Start menu and then selecting Sign out (for possible problems with exceeding the quota when logging out, see here ). Simply closing the client by clicking on the cross (either by default in the upper right corner of the client window, or in the connection bar if the client is full screen) will not log the user out.